Some US states require proof of residency to register a vehicle.

The States, not the US Federal Government, manage vehicle registration in America, and each state has its own registration process.

Thirteen states (and Washington, D.C.) require vehicle registration applicants to provide documentation that they live in the state.  These states are

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Virginia
  • Washington, D.C.
  • West Virginia

Acceptable documents vary from state to state.  Common requirements include bank or utility statements, tax returns, and payroll check stubs.